Easel is a visual design tool built for the web. Since the web is viewed in a browser, we believe it should be built in one too.

Previewing and Sharing Your Designs

One of the greatest powers of the web is it’s ability to share. Since Easel is built on the web, we’re able to take advantage of that. You can invite someone to a project, send them a link and even have multiple folks edit the same document at the same time.

But sometimes while you’re working you just want to let someone take a quick look.

Today we’re releasing a way to quickly preview a design and sharing with others — even those without an Easel account.

As an example, check out this landing page Matt recently made. Cool, right?

First, the Preview

In order to access the preview mode, there is a new menu item in the editor under the Document menu: Preview Document. This allows you to quickly view the document in preview mode just as the people you share the link with will see.

You can also toggle in and out of the preview by using the P key combination (or ctrlP on other platforms).

preview of landing page

Getting the Link

You can either copy it from the URL bar or click the Document -> Share document... from within the editor.

The share dialog

Changing Permissions

We’ve changed up document permissions a bit. Now, you can set up a document to be:

  • only viewable/editable by people you invite
  • viewable by anyone with a link (default)
  • editable by anyone with an account and a link

In order to change the permissions, go to your home screen, hover over a document click the settings link.

Comments